Equine care jobs..?

V

vegepitty

Hey!

Sorry for the english post but I just started learning the language.. Saying hi and ordering fries pretty much wraps up my current knowledge, so I didn't think it would be of any use right now. Also terribly sorry if you're already loaded with threads like this, but language (aaand google translate) makes it pretty hard to browse through all the topics.

So the thing is, me and my sambo are planning to move to Sweden next year (earliest) and I think I'd try to get a job in animal care, maybe small pets but more like horses. I don't have high expectations, I know I won't get instant megarich and that's not the goal at the moment anyway. I had grooming & stable works in mind. I have a few years of experience in riding (cca. 10) which sounds better than it actually is, I have a couple of years experience as an animal shelter volunteer (where I look after rescue horses as well) but I have no official paper (diploma etc) in animal care as there are literally no courses here (the few existing courses worth as much as a soaking pair of socks).. I tried to look up what I need to become a groom (preferably in a riding school or so) but didn't really succeed. So is there any special qualification I need to obtain first to work in equine care? I have some distant plans for moving on as an instructor as well, but that's not really important.
I would be extremely grateful for any opinions/recommendations.

Thanks & sorry for the long post!

Senast ändrad av en moderator:
Sv: Equine care jobs..?

If you're looking for a career as a groom Sweden should not be your choice.

The jobs are far and few but you may be able to get "praktik" which is non paid work experience but that's about it, and as you don't speak the language - any instructor job would be off.

Swedes go abroad to work as grooms, not sure where you're from but I would look to go to UK or mainland Europe instead!